Why does your program require 5 courses, when the Association of Child Life Professionals requires 10 courses?

A Professional Certificate Program is defined as an integrated curriculum of credit courses totaling 140 or more hours of instruction or least 16 units. The Child Life Program requires 20 units of study, so it can be defined as a “Professional Certificate Program.”

Based on a survey assessment of the targeted population, most candidates interested in getting certified by the Association of Child Life Professionals, had completed at least 5 of the required courses as part of their degree program, so the advisory board decided on 5 courses at a minimum for completion of the Child Life Professional Certificate Program.

For those not interested in becoming a CCLS, completion of 5 courses in Child Life represents a major personal achievement and indicates to employers a serious commitment to lifelong learning and professional advancement.

Print Friendly and PDF
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk